Artist of the Month - March

Devi Jay O'Donnell.jpg

Devi Jay O'Donnell - Ceramics

“I remember thinking how much I would love to be an artist at around the age of 3 years old. After scribbling oil crayons on the walls of the family room, my parents generously supplied me with painting and drawing materials! I secretly relished my primary school nickname ‘the artist’ and at 9 years of age, I set up an art studio in the old green chook shed in the back yard. My first still life drawing was a bottle of Stone’s Green Ginger Wine. While raising two children by myself I studied a Bachelor of Fine Arts followed by an Associate Diploma in Ceramics. I became a member of First Street Artist Studio Inc in Brompton, developing my arts practice across painting, drawing, sculptural and functional ceramics. My favoured mediums are clay, oil paint and metal embossing. Exhibitions have been numerous including local and interstate galleries, and work held in private collections here and overseas. I have also designed and created many public artworks around Adelaide and worked with the purpose of helping others find their own signature art through tutoring, including youth and indigenous women. The themes in my work are often those of human activity such as dancing or sleeping. The sleeping figure implies an awakening, self reflection and disengagement from the outside world. Dancing of course is the act of freely expressing one’s body and designing movement. My clay work often reflects a whimsical and humorous approach to artistic expression.”

Artist Demonstration

Saturday 23 March 2 pm - 4 pm

When

  • Friday, 01 March 2019 | 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Saturday, 02 March 2019 | 12:00 PM - 05:00 PM
  • Tuesday, 05 March 2019 | 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Wednesday, 06 March 2019 | 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Thursday, 07 March 2019 | 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Friday, 08 March 2019 | 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Saturday, 09 March 2019 | 12:00 PM - 05:00 PM
  • Tuesday, 12 March 2019 | 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Wednesday, 13 March 2019 | 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Thursday, 14 March 2019 | 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Friday, 15 March 2019 | 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Saturday, 16 March 2019 | 12:00 PM - 05:00 PM
  • Tuesday, 19 March 2019 | 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Wednesday, 20 March 2019 | 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Thursday, 21 March 2019 | 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Friday, 22 March 2019 | 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Saturday, 23 March 2019 | 12:00 PM - 05:00 PM
  • Tuesday, 26 March 2019 | 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Wednesday, 27 March 2019 | 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Thursday, 28 March 2019 | 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Friday, 29 March 2019 | 10:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Saturday, 30 March 2019 | 12:00 PM - 05:00 PM

Location

Pepper Street Arts Centre, 558 Magill Rd, Magill 5072  View Map

Google Map