Eastern Region Alliance

ERA logo colour RGB 150.jpg

The Eastern Region Alliance (ERA) is a voluntary regional association of eastern metropolitan Councils. The Member Councils are City of Burnside, City of Campbelltown, City of Norwood Payneham St Peters, City of Prospect, City of Unley and Town of Walkerville. These Councils have executed a Memorandum of Agreement (MOA) to form ERA.

The magnificent eastern suburbs of Adelaide are areas of high-quality residential amenity, with proud communities that expect high standard facilities and services, and share interests in many issues including quality public transport, youth, and environmental sustainability.


ERA was formed on 5 November 2008. ERA existed in earlier days as Metropolitan Eastern Region Organisation (MERO), and later as Office of the East (OOTE). Our Councils in various combinations have a history of successful cross-border partnerships, resource sharing, co-operation and alliances. Existing areas of mutually beneficial joint-effort include waste management, environmental health, immunisation, purchasing, regional rates administration, emergency management planning, regional grants officer, and collective advocacy efforts.


ERA represents a large and important part of the Adelaide Metropolitan Area:

COUNCIL Population (30/6/07) Area (HA.) Total Op. Expenditure $M (30/6/07)
Burnside 43,674 2,741 28,217
Campbelltown 47,527 2,428 26,148
Norwood Payneham St Peters 34,865 1,512 27,234
Prospect 19,814 778 14,079
Unley 37,305 1,437 28,831
Walkerville 7,202 356 5,445
TOTAL 289,714 18,759 $186,798

Further Information

To find out more information or to view documents please visit the ERA website.

Contact Details

Address: C/O City of Burnside PO Box 9 GLENSIDE SA 5065
Telephone: 8366 4200
Email: ccowley@burnside.sa.gov.au