Voting in Local Government Elections

Councils are part of the democratic framework of Australia. The community elects their Council Members every four years and the next general elections happen in November 2018. 

The rules for elections are set out in the Local Government (Elections) Act 1999 - an Act of the South Australian Parliament.

Further information on the upcoming elections for Council residents and candidates can be accessed on the Local Government Association (LGA) website via the link below.

The candidates

Nominations for candidates for the upcoming Council Election closed at 12 noon on Tuesday 18 September 2018.  At 4pm the draw for positions on the ballot papers for all of the elections being held in the City of Burnside was held and the list below shows the candidates in the order that they will be appearing on the ballot papers.

Mayor – 1 Vacancy

Monceaux, Anne
Parkin, David

Beaumont Ward – 2 Vacancies

Huebl, Paul
Jones, Harvey
Brown, Graeme
Dixon, Andrew

Burnside Ward – 2 Vacancies

Daws, Mike
Bills, Graham
Andrews, Andrew
Turnbull, Jennifer

Eastwood & Glenunga Ward – 2 Vacancies

Lemon, Helga
Wilkins, Dianne
Carbone, Julian

Kensington Gardens & Magill Ward – 2 Vacancies

Davis, Henry
Bagster, Lance
Bills, Tesslyn
Piggott, Grant

Kensington Park Ward – 2 Vacancies

Shakes, Christopher
Hughes, Sarah
Davey, Jane
Paul, George
Jones, Bill

Rose Park & Toorak Gardens Ward – 2 Vacancies

Cornish, Peter
Henschke, Lillian
Rooney, Pauline

How to vote

The Electoral Commission of SA will post ballot papers to all those enrolled on the Voters' Roll the week beginning  Monday 22 October. You have until 5 pm on Friday 9 November to lodge your vote.

If you don’t receive your election material by Monday 29 October 2018, contact the Electoral Commission SA to arrange for your election material to be reissued.

Most electors will receive one voting pack. However, people who have additional properties or entitlements for a different election may receive more than one voting pack.

Voting Packs

Your voting pack will contain:

  • A ballot paper for each election being contested in the council area which you are entitled to vote
  • Candidate profile brochure
  • A ballot paper envelope
  • A reply-paid envelope
  • A Postal Voting Guide.

How to complete your ballot papers

You must number at least as many boxes as there are vacancies, in the order of your choice. The number of vacancies will be shown on the ballot paper.

Returning your ballot paper

Once you have completed your ballot paper:

  1. Place it in the ballot paper envelope provided.
  2. Seal it.
  3. Complete your details and sign the declaration on the envelope flap.
  4. Place your completed ballot paper envelope in the reply paid envelope and seal it.
  5. Mail it (no stamp required) so that it reaches the Returning Officer by close of voting.
  6. If you do not get your envelope in the post on time, you can place it in the ballot box which is available at Customer Experience Desk at the Burnside Civic Centre by close of voting, 5 pm Friday 9 November 2018.

 Re-issuing voting packs

 Voting packs can be re-issued to electors who claim that the original material was:

  • not received
  • destroyed or lost
  • spoiled
  • issued for an incorrect ward.

Voting packs may also be issued to electors who claim to have been omitted from the council voters roll due to an administrative error.

Voting packs are reissued by the Electoral Commission SA until Friday 3 November 2018 and from Monday 5 November 2018 they can be reissued at the Burnside Civic Centre, Monday to Friday during office hours.

All ballot material must be received by ECSA by 5 pm Friday 9 November 2018.

Make a difference and have your say on who is elected to your Council.